These frozen pizzas are a freezer meal favourite along with Burritos, Cannelloni, Lasagna and hearty Beef Stew!

Homemade Frozen Pizzas

I always feel smug when I know I have a stash of really good freezer meals. My favourites are things like burritos, stews, soups, quesadillas, garlic bread (BEST standby ever!), lasagna and these homemade frozen pizzas. I have grand plans to do an Ultimate Homemade Pizza Guide one of these days, complete with homemade pizza dough options and the RecipeTin Family pizza menu. Until such day arrives, you’ll need to make do with my quick ‘n easy pizza made with store bought flatbreads. 🙂 I like to make big batches and freeze them so I have a stash of homemade frozen pizzas ready to cook on command!

Flatbreads for pizza base

Throw-together pizzas are a staple quick meal for many households, I expect. Though I wonder – do most people use store bought pizza bases? I can honestly put my hand on heart and say that I have never in my life used a store bought pizza base. That is – something sold labelled as a pizza base. Because I balk at the price of just ONE pizza base – usually around $3 each. And because I know that using Greek pita bread makes a terrific base for a thin and crispy pizza – for $0.40 each ($4 for a 10 pack). Here’s the flatbread I use. It’s labelled as “Greek Pitta Bread” and it’s supposed to be used as a wrap for things like Greek Chicken Gyros. But it’s perfect for pizzas because they are thicker than tortillas / usual wraps (see comparison below to tortilla – it’s about twice as thick). I get mine from Harris Farms and I’ve seen them in other fruit & veg stores as well as Middle Eastern grocery stores.

Lebanese Bread is a great alternative which I use frequently too. I find that it’s a little drier used as a pizza base because they are like pockets so they’re comprised of two thin layers, whereas the Pitta Bread is more like a thick tortilla. However, they are still terrific used as a pizza base and they are crispier. These are sold in supermarkets in Australia (Woolies, Coles) but they are cheaper in Harris Farms and from Mediterranean / Middle Eastern stores!!

Homemade Pizza Sauce

You may find this ironic, but I use store bought pizza bases with homemade pizza sauce. I’m weird like that. I have this “line” when it comes to store bought things. Bread is on the “buy” side. Sauces are on the “make” side. So I’ve made this recipe using a homemade pizza sauce. But actually, I think it might cost around the same or possibly a bit cheaper if you make 10 pizzas using a store bought pizza sauce!

Pizza Toppings

As for toppings, it always catches me by surprise how little is required to top a pizza. And also because you don’t want to overload the pizza because a) it compromises the crispy base b) the more you put on, the higher risk of it all sliding off when you take a bite (talking from first hand experience, hot melty cheese and toppings on chin = painful). I actually measured the exact amount of toppings I used for each pizza. 25g / 3/4 oz salami. 10g / 0.33 oz olives, 1 1/2 mushrooms. 1/10th of a green capsicum and onion. 2.5 tablespoons of pizza sauce. And 75g / 2.5oz shredded cheese. Just to be clear – that’s 10g / 0.33 oz olives. Not 8g. Just to be absolutely exact…. 😂

Set up an assembly line, and knock these out one by one. My recipe makes 10 pizzas because I like to use the entire packet of flatbread.

Best way to cook pizzas from frozen

As for how to cook these Homemade Frozen Pizzas, these are Thin and Crispy pizzas, and this is the best way I know how to make the crispiest pizzas in an everyday home oven – by cooking them directly on the rack. (Obviously make sure it is clean!)

Or, if you want to be more normal and/or have these pizza baking trays with holes in them, they will work just fine too. BUT not as crispy as baking them straight on the rack (plus you can fit 2 on each rack, if you have 2 racks that’s 4 pizzas in the oven in one go).

I called this recipe $2 Homemade Frozen Pizzas so I have a $20 budget to account for which I’ve broken down in the recipe below. I live in Sydney, Australia, which is a notoriously expensive city to live in, so especially those of you who live in the States will probably be able to make these even cheaper. 🙂 Plus, I used branded products for everything, rather than value brands. So…. what do you think? Especially for those of you with busy schedules, I hope you find this useful! Oh – and I know that this recipe is pretty Australia-specific in terms of the flatbread that I use. I would LOVE recommendations from readers in other countries for flatbreads that are ideal to use for pizza that I can then add into the recipe notes to help other people! – Nagi xx

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

$2 Homemade Frozen Pizzas recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

Raw, cooked, frozen…..what does it matter?

SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSaveSaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSaveSaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave SaveSave

Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 49Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 84Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 39Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 24Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 68Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 95Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 49Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 77Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 39Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 60Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 41Homemade Frozen Pizzas  Quick  n Easy  - 34