Aren’t you just dying to know how I made that frosting?? 😜 (Looking for Pupcakes? Here it is!)

Dog cake for Dozer’s birthday!

“That frosting tastes a bit odd,” grumbled the husband of Dozer’s boarder. Can you just imagine the pleasure she got out of telling him he’d just eaten a DOG cake??😂 “Serves him right for helping himself to anything that looks tasty” she smirked when she told me. I was laughing so hard at the vision, I actually snorted. Who can blame him?? The whole point of creating this cake was to make it look like a real birthday cake piled high with fluffy buttercream frosting – but with dog friendly ingredients. So it tastes nothing like what it looks like – it’s a total spin out!!

OK OK I know you’re busting to know how I made the cake look so “real” so I won’t keep you in suspense any longer! Here’s the rundown:

🐾 Healthy dog sponge cake🐾

This is a healthy dog friendly version of carrot cake. It’s a moist sponge that’s very simple to make – dump and mix job – and all the ingredients are either good for dogs, or fine for dogs to eat in moderation. I’ve provided some nutrition commentary on each ingredient in the recipe below. (PS I hope you didn’t miss that I said this is a moist sponge. Just because it’s a dog cake, doesn’t mean we should let our standards slip! 😂)

🐾 Dog friendly fluffy frosting 🐾

Made with fluffy whipped mashed potato! OK, so it’s not something you’d put on a cake for humans – but this is for dogs remember! I wanted a frosting that was dog friendly that looked just like vanilla buttercream so I could use it for sandwiching layers, frosting and piping. Most dog cake frosting recipes I found use yogurt and peanut butter which is too soft and also, too much of either of those ingredients is not good for dogs. Solution: whipped mashed potato!! 🤣 I got the idea from Meatloaf Cupcakes that I shared years ago where I piped on mashed potato swirls. I use yogurt to give it a creamy soft “buttercream frosting” consistency because yogurt has probiotics in it which is good for dogs. But water works just as well!

Look how well it works as frosting for the cake! It’s looks almost impossibly similar to real buttercream frosting!

🎉Dozer’s birthday party!🎉

A cake this good (and big 😳) is made to be shared. And what better way to share it than at an impromptu birthday party down at the beach?? It was, as one might expect, total chaos, and my vision of an adorable photo of all the dogs wearing party hats sitting patiently behind the cake just didn’t happen. (That was total wishful thinking on my part 😂)

Hats were swiped off within seconds of putting them on – hence why you only see photos of 1 dog at a time wearing a hat 😂, the swarm of wet, sandy golden retrievers around the cake was such a hazard at one point I actually had to pick the cake up and run away!

As for the birthday boy, the cheeky bugger tried to get stuck into the cake before it was even served!!

But suffice to say, it was his idea of a perfect birthday. Beach, all his best mates, a big fat cake. What more can a dog ask for?? Actually, the only thing different between this day and every other day in Dozer’s life was the presence of cake. 😂 Happy birthday Dozer! 🎊🎉 Another year older, though not wiser. But I wouldn’t change a thing about you – I love you just the way you are! ~ Nagi x

Watch how to make it

Life of Dozer

Just because this whole post is for Dozer, that’s no excuse to break tradition by excluding the Life of Dozer section!!! So here he is, starring in his first recipe video. Shooting with Dozer IN the video was somewhat of a challenge…… if he had his way, he’d have eaten the batter raw!! 😂

Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 28Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 40Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 99Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 51Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 46Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 15Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 22Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 30Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 75Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 24Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 86Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 91Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 51Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 34Dog Cake recipe for Dozer s birthday  - 72