This is the “leftovers” recipe from the Juicy Cuban Mojo Pork Roast I posted last week from the movie “Chef”. I raved about the movie in that post so I won’t repeat myself!

The real star of the movie are the Cubanos which are cuban pork sandwiches. I’ve had my share of great sandwiches, particularly during my foodie road trips across the US. But Cubanos….they have always held a special place in my heart, ever since that first bite I unsuspectingly took in a random Cuban diner in Miami. It wasn’t even in the Latin neighbourhood, it was on South Beach! I didn’t really even know that cubanos were a “thing”. I just ordered a cuban sandwich, knew it was better than any sandwich I’d ever had in Australia (even fully loaded ones from up market bistros!) and that it even rivalled Shake Shack (which is saying something….because I am obsessed with American burgers!).

To be honest though, after I returned to Australia, I forgot about the Cubanos, lost amongst the memories of all the other amazing food we had on our travels throughout the US. Until I watched the Chef movie. Boy, it brought back a flood of memories! I didn’t actually think to make Cubanos myself until I saw this Cuban Sandwich recipe by the lovely and talented Kathleen from Hapa Nom Nom (one of my favourite blogs, endless source of inspiration!). And recently, I happened to receive a delivery of pork from Murray Valley Pork, a premium range of Australian pork. It was just “meant to be”! I posted the Mojo Marinated Pork recipe separately, because it is SO GOOD it deserves to be served by itself as a centrepiece roast (and you only need a bit of leftovers for this recipe). Please, please, please….if you make these Cubanos, please use the Mojo Marinated Pork. Especially if you are in Australia because I can tell you that even pork slices from the most expensive deli you know will not come close to the garlicky, herby, citrusy flavours infused throughout homemade Mojo Marinated Pork. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need lunch. And to pretend I’m back in Miami. 🙂 – Nagi

More Burgers, Sliders and Sandwiches

Big, juicy Hamburgers Steak Sandwich – super quick Chicken Burger – juicy seasoned chicken breast steak with the lot! Nando’s Peri Peri Chicken Burger – chicken marinated in a homemade flavour bomb Peri Peri sauce BBQ Pulled Pork Sliders Pastrami Sandwiches – Rye bread piled high with homemade pastrami. EPIC! Veggie Burger – Meatless made amazing. Puts those doughy bricks at the shops to shame! Browse all Burgers and Sandwiches & Sliders recipes

  SaveSave

Cuban Pork Sandwich  Cubanos  from Chef Movie - 84Cuban Pork Sandwich  Cubanos  from Chef Movie - 90Cuban Pork Sandwich  Cubanos  from Chef Movie - 90Cuban Pork Sandwich  Cubanos  from Chef Movie - 7Cuban Pork Sandwich  Cubanos  from Chef Movie - 38Cuban Pork Sandwich  Cubanos  from Chef Movie - 10