Pssst. And did you know that the calories in potato wedges is less than half that of fries??

CRUNCHY Baked Potato Wedges!

Potato wedges are almost as popular as fries in Australia. When you go to a pub, there will inevitably be wedges on the bistro menu right alongside fries. And there’s almost as many varieties of frozen potato wedges as there are fries. Different flavours, different crunch levels, normal potato and sweet potato, extra spicy – the list goes on and on. I’m not going to deny that I have been known to have a stash of frozen wedges in my freezer. They are SUCH a great midnight snack….I can’t help it, I just can’t resist the convenience! BUT as with everything, homemade is so much better. I’ve always noticed that the frozen ones have a slight sourness to them (I’ve also noticed that with frozen Potato Gems / Tater Tots) – anyone else notice that?? Coating potatoes in a light seasoning adds flavour and extra CRUNCH!

Potato Wedges Seasoning

I use a seasoning made with just paprika, garlic and onion powder, salt and pepper. I’ve played around with various seasoning mixes, but keep falling back to this simple combination that I think closely resembles the seasoned wedges served at pubs and the ones you can get from the supermarket!

How to make potato wedges

Potato wedges are really simple to make – and faster than fries too because the potato is cut into larger pieces!! Just cut into wedges, toss in oil and the seasoning, then bake for 35 minutes until crunchy!

How to cut potato wedges

Cutting potato wedges is far easier than cutting fries! Just cut the potato in half (step 1 below), then place the cut side face down on the cutting board (step 2 below). Then cut that piece into 3 or 4 pieces, depending on the size of your potato. I cut large potatoes into 8 wedges, and small/medium potatoes into 6 pieces.

My tricks for CRUNCHY potato wedges!

You’ll find recipes “out there” that swear by all sorts of involved methods for super crunchy baked potato wedges, from soaking in water to dusting in semolina, to preheating oil in the oven before adding the wedges – like I make insanely crunchy Roast Potatoes. I find these come out with great crunchy factor without fussing with any of those fiddly techniques! And here are my tips:

Light dusting of seasoning provides a coating that gets crunchy when baked Right amount of oil. Too much and it actually makes them soggy. Too little and the seasoning doesn’t stick on the wedges and the wedges stick to the baking tray. High(ish) oven helps set that crust extra quickly! Right potato  – this recipe is pretty solid and will work with the common potato types (which tend to be great all rounders). Just avoid really waxy potatoes. Australia, use: dirt brushed (I use this the most), white washed, red potatoes. US: Yukon Gold, Russet.

Dipping sauces for potato wedges

Something to dunk the wedges in is essential!!! I know some people like tomato sauce or ketchup. Other sauce options I’ve seen include BBQ sauce, yogurt, ranch, aoli (mayo + garlic), and I also like to serve this with Avocado Dipping Sauce. But for us Aussies, we can’t go past sour cream and sweet chilli sauce. In fact, if you order wedges at a bistro, sour cream and sweet chilli is the default serving sauces – you have to ask if you DON’T want them!! If you’ve never tried the sour cream/sweet chilli combo, give it a go! It’s outrageously moreish – I guarantee you’ll love it. 😇 – Nagi

Serve these wedges on the side of…

….a big juicy beef burger! Or a chicken burger, copycat Nando’s Portuguese Chicken Burger or any of these Burgers or Sandwiches & Sliders. Otherwise, not traditional but still brilliant with Crispy Beer Battered Fish instead of the chips!

Watch how to make it

Originally published May 2015. Updated with brand new photos, step photos, video and most importantly, Life of Dozer section added!

Life of Dozer

Proof of crunchiness – I made these these wedges at home and they were still crispy by the time I got them down to Geoff, the unofficial caretaker of the Bayview Dog Park where I take Dozer for a swim almost every day! I only live 5 minutes away, but by the time I got myself organised, bundled Dozer in the car, found a park then got these wedges to Geoff, they were probably about 15 minutes out of the oven. And he swore they were still super crunchy (and I nicked one to double check! 😂)

SaveSave

Crunchy Seasoned Baked Potato Wedges - 18Crunchy Seasoned Baked Potato Wedges - 94Crunchy Seasoned Baked Potato Wedges - 86Crunchy Seasoned Baked Potato Wedges - 39Crunchy Seasoned Baked Potato Wedges - 77Crunchy Seasoned Baked Potato Wedges - 24Crunchy Seasoned Baked Potato Wedges - 83Crunchy Seasoned Baked Potato Wedges - 14