Grill it, bake it or even cook these on the stove!

Prawn / Shrimp Foil Packets WITH Cheesy Potatoes!

This is my prawn (shrimp) version of Fish en Pappillote, which sounds super fancy but actually just means “fish in a bag” (it’s French). Finely sliced potato, vegetables, topped with fish, some basic seasonings, herbage of some sort, then baked inside a paper parcel. This method of cooking seals in the moisture and flavour inside the bag, and has the added benefit of less washing up. I recall it being a regular in my mother’s meal rotation when I was a kid. And I hated it.  I always thought it was so bland. I had no appreciation for the delicate flavour of the fish, and the fragrant herby aroma that wafted out of the parcel when it was opened. Even as a kid, I was all about the kapow! flavours that I still love today. I’m going to be honest – it is still not my favourite and I never make it. At least, not the traditional way. Enter – Prawn en Pappillote. My way! 🙂

Based on the same principal as en Pappillote, this foil packet recipe is comprised of creamy cheesy potatoes that are topped with prawns in a creamy garlic sauce, and a token side of steamed asparagus to round out the meal. There’s nothing tricky about this – not even the forming the parcel (watch the video below the recipe to see how to fold it, it’s super simple). And truly, it is amazing when you open the foil packet, you are greeted with the sight of perfectly cooked prawns piled on top of creamy cheesy potatoes and you just know this is light years away from any memory you may have of bland steamed foil packet meals! (Wait – or is it just me??) This recipe is like the foil packet version of Creamy Prawn Pasta – with potatoes instead of spaghetti!

And I truly do mean it when I say this isn’t just about less washing up. In fact, that is a side benefit. This foil packet recipe is truly about retaining all those flavours and juices inside the packet, so not a single drop of flavour is wasted. Every single time you sear something in a pan, you are leaving flavour behind. Every time you bake something, flavour drips and evaporates on the baking tray. Every time you grill something on your BBQ, flavour is left on those grills. But not with this!!! Every drop of flavour is captured and retained in that foil packet – your dinner! My favourite way to cook this is in the oven – just 10 minutes – but it can also be grilled or even cooked on the stove, though when cooked on the stove it is a wee bit less saucier because even inside the foil packet, the direct contact with the heat causes the sauce to cook out faster. Hope you enjoy! – Nagi xx PS Feel free to add more veggies, just as long as they are chopped to size so they will steam in 10 – 12 minutes. 🙂

WATCH HOW TO MAKE IT

Creamy Garlic Prawns and Cheesy Potatoes Foil Packet recipe video!

LIFE OF DOZER

Seriously. Come on! I’m trying to CLEAN!

Creamy Garlic Prawns  Shrimp    Cheesy Potato Foil Packet  - 93Creamy Garlic Prawns  Shrimp    Cheesy Potato Foil Packet  - 52Creamy Garlic Prawns  Shrimp    Cheesy Potato Foil Packet  - 43Creamy Garlic Prawns  Shrimp    Cheesy Potato Foil Packet  - 6Creamy Garlic Prawns  Shrimp    Cheesy Potato Foil Packet  - 4Creamy Garlic Prawns  Shrimp    Cheesy Potato Foil Packet  - 85