Coconut Rice

Truly fluffy coconut rice eluded me for years. I felt like I tried every variation possible, but when I lifted the lid, I’d stare at dismay at into a pot of mushy rice, thick with coconut milk scum. Usually with unevenly cooked rice grains – some hard, some overly soft – and almost always with a scorched base. The making of my cookbook gave me the excuse I needed to commit to cracking coconut rice, once and for all. 30+ tests later, I’m so happy to say my team and I have cracked the secret code. And every since then, I’ve never looked back. Fluffy coconut rice every. single. time WITHOUT FAIL!

The secret to fluffy coconut rice – BAKE IT

The trick to fuss-free fluffy coconut rice is to bake it rather than cook it on the stove. The coconut rice comes out perfectly fluffy every time, and no scorched pot!

How to make perfect coconut rice

And that, my friends, is the secret to fluffy coconut rice. If you just pour cold water and room temperature coconut milk over the rice, it takes a good 10 to 15 minutes for the liquid to heat up in the oven during which time the rice is just wallowing in lukewarm liquids which causes it to bloat and cook unevenly. It’s a lot of words. But don’t worry, actually cooking it is super duper simple. Just pop it in the oven and leave it to do its thing!

How to rinse rice

I find it easiest to rinse rice in a bowl. Just pour the rice in a bowl and fill with water, then swish it around. Drain (just pour the water out best you can, no need to use a colander), then fill with water again and repeat 4 to 5 times until the water is pretty clear. The water will never be completely clear! My rule of thumb is 4 to 5 refills of the bowl. BONUS coconut milk powder option: There’s another way to make fluffy coconut rice on the stove using coconut milk powder. The result is not quite as fluffy as using the oven and the coconut flavour is not quite as intense. But it’s still very good, much better than stove-top using coconut milk, and a good option for those times when you don’t have an oven. I’ve popped that extra recipe below the coconut milk recipe (ie scroll to bottom of post). It’s an extra because coconut milk powder isn’t as common as coconut milk. While I always have coconut milk on hand, I don’t usually have powder!

How to make Thai / Asian Coconut Rice

To get a true Asian restaurant coconut rice, the secret is to add pandan leaves. If you can’t find pandan leaves, kaffir limes leaves also add a similar fragrance. This is what pandan leaves looks like. It’s sold at some Harris Farms in Australia, as well as Asian stores. To prepare them for use, just knot them – this breaks the leaves, releasing the flavour so it infuses into the rice.

What to serve with coconut rice

Coconut rice is a rice dish that is used in cuisines such as Caribbean, Tropical (Hawaiian!) as well as South East Asian foods such as Thai and Malaysian foods. But don’t let “rules” restrict you. Use it as you wish – and I promise you, it’s so delish, you can even eat it plain, straight out of the pot! Hope you enjoy! – Nagi x

Coconut Rice will go great with…

Everything Thai and Vietnamese Chickpea Potato Curry or Vegetable Curry Jamaican Jerk Chicken and Jerk Fish Beef Rendang Thai Marinated Chicken (Gai Yang) or Southern Thai Chicken Thai Chilli Basil Chicken Stir Fry Pineapple Coconut Hawaiian Chicken Skewers Coconut Rice  fluffy  not gluey   - 80Coconut Rice  fluffy  not gluey   - 41Coconut Rice  fluffy  not gluey   - 64Coconut Rice  fluffy  not gluey   - 40Coconut Rice  fluffy  not gluey   - 90Coconut Rice  fluffy  not gluey   - 67