I love a good one pot recipe, and this one sits alongside reader favourites including Greek Chicken & Lemon Rice, Sausage Bake with Vegetables and Gravy, Baked Chicken with Garlic Butter Rice and the one skillet Asian Beef Noodles!

“It’s beefy, cheesy and saucy – Hamburger Helper tastes like cheeseburgers in pasta form!”

Cheeseburger Casserole

The first time I published this recipe, I said that I burnt my mouth taste testing this straight out of the pot. And almost 3 years later, I’m saying the same thing – yet again, I burnt my mouth. I took a small taste to check for seasoning. Had a swoon moment, then scooped up a huge spoonful and shovelled it in my mouth. And totally scorched the entire roof of my mouth. OUCH. Here’s an up close and personal look at the offender. Look at it. Can you blame me for my lack of self control??

Another ground beef recipe!

I’m a big fan of ground beef (mince) recipes because it’s economical, requires no chopping and it’s a terrific sponge for flavour. So for those of you who put a packet of beef mince in your shopping basket this week, this Cheeseburger Casserole is for you! The key ingredients are fairly standard pantry items. And the items that are not can be substituted:

carrot, celery and corn are optional. Feel free to add other chopped veg some subs available for the spices

The cheese is not optional. If you skip it, then this pretty much becomes a bolognese, hmm??

One pot! 20 minutes!

The beauty of this recipe is the speed at which it has to be cooked. You cannot cook the pasta for longer than 12 minutes, otherwise your sauce will disappear and you’ll end up with overly soft pasta. It’s a 19 minute job on the stove:

Onion, garlic, celery, carrot – 4 minutes Brown beef – 3 minutes Add the other stuff and stir – 2 minutes Cook – 8 minutes (no peeking!) Stir & Cheese – 1 minute Melt -2 minutes TOTAL 20 minutes

(PS I used to work in finance. This is the extent of the maths I do nowadays 🤓)

This Cheeseburger Casserole is a recipe from my good friend Jo from Jo Cooks. It’s one of many fabulous one pot recipes in her cookbook, 30 Minute One Pot Meals.  I originally shared this recipe back in 2016 to celebrate the release of her cookbook. It was fabulous then, and it’s just as fabulous now. ❤️

Sometimes, I reduce the amount of pasta (because I always have half packets 250g/8oz lying around!) and up the veg quota. Zucchini and red peppers /capsicum are ideal. Jo also suggests topping it with diced tomato which is a great topping. If you do this, then you might not need a side salad. But if you do, try your garden salad or steamed vegetables with French Dressing, Balsamic Dressing or my favourite Italian Dressing. Or make a big batch of Broccoli Salad that will last you days and days! – Nagi x PS And if you feel like a total carb blow out, add a side of Better-Than-Dominos Garlic Bread. She swoons at the thought and her skinny jeans are cursing

More One Pot Ground Beef / Mince recipes

Chili Mac – mash up of Mac and Cheese with Chilli Con Carne, so good! One Pot Spaghetti Bolognese Asian Beef and Ramen Noodles – one skillet, 15 minutes Beef and Veggies with Rice Bolognese Orzo (Risoni) Taco Soup – don’t knock it until you’ve tried it, it’s amazing! Browse all One Pot recipes and Ground Beef / Mince recipes

Cheeseburger Casserole

Watch how to make it

Life of Dozer

This is the same Dozer photo I shared when I first published this recipe back in 2016 – Dozer looking at Jo’s cookbook instead of the food. We all know I was holding a treat just out of frame to make him do that. But she loves the photo so much anyway, I can’t change it!!

Cheeseburger Casserole  Homemade Hamburger Helper  - 85Cheeseburger Casserole  Homemade Hamburger Helper  - 88Cheeseburger Casserole  Homemade Hamburger Helper  - 40Cheeseburger Casserole  Homemade Hamburger Helper  - 90Cheeseburger Casserole  Homemade Hamburger Helper  - 24Cheeseburger Casserole  Homemade Hamburger Helper  - 51Cheeseburger Casserole  Homemade Hamburger Helper  - 70Cheeseburger Casserole  Homemade Hamburger Helper  - 52